1st Place

 

On May 13th I won first place for the CAA-NCR poetry contest. It was a great moment for me. Here is my poem:

You Can’t See Me by Catina Noble

his voice rises another octave as my eyes look to my shoes

so i will not have to feel his frustration with me again

 

people keep walking for the most part and for some they glance

our way to listen to his words thrown at me just because

 

i suggest that perhaps the car was making a funny noise

it should be taken to be seen and heard for safety sake

 

as his hand harshly reaches my cheek i stop looking

at my shoes and my eyes linger on the stranger before me

 

all the years of us wiped away in a moment of

clarity and I see four mall security coming, closing in on us

 

he is angry, hands fly, spittle flies and someone cries out

yet it is not me as i crumple to the floor and put my hands

 

over my face and peek through my laced fingers to see him

take away from me for good so that i can begin my life again

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1st Place

  1. Bouncy X says:

    it was a great moment to witness as well, glad people can now see what won the so deserved award!!! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

