How My Writing Adventures Began…

Once upon a time in a far away place….okay not really but it does feel like it has been forever! When I was growing up I did write a few small short stories and silly poems. Most of my passion went into keeping journals. I wrote all the time. I still keep a journal. In fact I probably have close to 60 books filled with my thoughts, dreams and challenging moments.

When I was in junior high I wrote a few articles for a community paper in my area called “Image”. I had fun but as the years unfolded I found myself busy with my kids and trying to finish my classes up at Carleton U. In 2009 I decided that I really wanted to give my writing adventures a try. I mean I had nothing to lose and I have always loved writing. I had a few dozen poems kicking around. I decided to send them out and see what happened. I had two pieces published that year.  The first was a small article in Carleton’s school newspaper. The second was one of my poems titled “Ugly” was published in The Prairie Journal. Having those two small slivers of hope under my belt, my journey continued.

In 2010 I decided to try and build up my credentials. That was the way to get my name out there and to be taken seriously as a writer. For the first while it was not a pretty picture. I dealt with rejection after rejection. Still I kept going. I even contacted as many local community papers I could that were hiring and volunteered my time. All the papers and I mean all, but one never even replied to me. Then one day I opened up my email and there was a message from Carole Moult at the Riverview Park Review. She was willing to give me a chance. That email was what I needed!

In June 2010 a couple of my first photos and my first article was published in the Riverview Park Review community newspaper! I have been with them ever since. They publish five times a year and I contribute to almost every issue. I have not counted in a bit but on December 1 2012 I hit a hundred publications. Those publications include photos, poems, short stories, articles and interviews. I have now had publications in over a dozen different places.  My writing adventure continues!

“I also learned that reaching your dreams means never quitting. Writing is done step by step, by the numbers and by going on to the next story, knowing just a little more than you did before”-John P. Buenello

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How My Writing Adventures Began…

  1. Bouncy X says:

    i remember you writing even back then, its why i wasnt surprised to learn you still were pursuing it when we found each other again. and i’ve loved being around every step of the way since 2009. i love having watched you grow and improve as a writer, see all your achievements and watch you reach and surpass so many goals and milestones. seeing, reading, hearing all the praise from everyone from friends and family down to other writers and professionals. its been and is being an amazing adventure to be on. i can’t wait to see what comes next!! 🙂

  2. Catina Noble says:

    It has been a good journey and as each day passes, I wake wondering what this day will bring 🙂

Leave a Reply

