My First Interview with a Reporter

In late Spring of last year I had my first interview with a reporter. I got an email from Carole, my editor of the Riverview Park Review, saying that Bill Fairbairn (author of The Printer’s Devil and a few other books) had requested to do an interview with me. Eagerly I said yes and was quite nervous.

The day for the interview came. We met up at a local Tim Horton’s. I had read that keeping interviews on neutral ground was the way to go and I agree with that! I was asked a lot of questions, some personal, some not so personal. The article that was written about me turned out fine. With each step I take in my journey as a writer I learn new things. I have done a couple more interviews since then. Now when I am asked to do an interview, I ask for a list of the questions to be emailed to me at least 24 hours in advance. This makes the interview go a lot smoother on my end because I know what to expect and have time to put more thought into my answers and I do not forget anything!

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life”-Steve Jobs

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My First Interview with a Reporter

  1. Bouncy X says:

    The first was like your training ground and now you’re an old pro at this! And it was cool that he was the one who ended up doing it with the lil bit of history there! i always love hearing you’ll be interviewed for things and always look forward to reading them. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

